Freshlyground hogs Sama nominations

Patience Bambalele

Patience Bambalele

MTV Award-winning group Freshlyground made a clean sweep with six nominations at this year's South African Music Awards (Sama) that were announced last night at Catwalk in Fourways.

After a two-year break, the Cape Town-based group is back by popular demand. Though the group's latest album, Macheri, is not as hot as Nomvula, it enjoys extensive airplay.

Freshlyground has been nominated in the Best Duo category, Album of the Year, Best Music Video, Best Producer, Best Adult Contemporary and Best Engineered Album.

The group is closely followed by jazz singer Jimmy Dludlu with five nominations. In the past three years, Dludlu has been able to keep consistency by winning Sama awards.

There have been quite noticeable surprises in this year's Sama nominations. New girl on the scene, Zonke, has been nominated in three categories.

Budding singer Camagwini has also surprised a lot of people by getting two awards nominations. Barely a year in the field, the singer has shown that she means business.

Black Coffee, one of the most talented yet underrated DJs, got two nominations for his album Have Another One.

In gospel, Lundi Tyamara, Rebecca Malope, Lusanda and Winnie Mashaba got a nomination each.

Other artists who got more than one nomination are Karen Zoid, HHP, Tasha Bexter and Ladysmith Black Mambazo.

Other interesting categories are Best Solo Artist: Karen Zoid, KB, Louis Carver, Bexter, and Zonke.

Best Male Solo Artist: Black Coffee, Chris Chameleon, HHP, Jimmy Dludlu, and McCoy Morubata.

Best Newcomer: Camagwini, Molemi, Mpumi Dhlamini, Tasha Baxter, and Tumi.

Album of the Year: DJ Cleo, Freshlyground, HHP, Jimmy, and Zonke.

Best kwaito Album: Alaska, Brickz, Howza, Mandoza, and Tzozo En Professor.