star teachers sought

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

South Africans have once again started honouring their star teachers in technical subjects through the yearly Aggrey Klaaste Maths, Science and Technology Educator of the Year Award.

Pupils, teachers, parents and everyone else who is interested in seeing the public education system succeeding, nominate their favourite teachers.

The winners of the first two provincial heats last month are:

l Free State's Sesenene Chaka, SE Knoetze and Pierre de Villiers;

lEastern Cape's Margaret Nonceba Spelman, Sindephi Attwell Galewe and Sibonginkosi Hlalukana.

The reigning champions are Mamosadi Monareng of North West and Thamsanqa Makhathini and Colin van Toore of KwaZulu-Natal.

Named in honour of late Sowetan editor-in-chief Aggrey Klaaste, the awards are part of the youth development and community development programmes of the Aggrey Klaaste Nation Building Foundation.

Klaaste started the Sowetan nation building concept, philosophy and work in 1988, at a time when South Africa was in political, social, economic and spiritual turmoil.

Apartheid's inferior Bantu education ensured that black pupils lagged behind in all subjects, including maths, physical science and technology.

Inferior education, facilities and equipment affected the morale and competitiveness of both teachers and pupils.

Finalists, chosen through a provincial eliminations must:

lDemonstrate a love for maths, science or technology;

l Show a willingness to explore new ideas to improve teaching in these subjects;

l Encourage pupils to become independent, analytical and critical thinkers;

l Instil in pupils a love for these subjects;

l Boast an admirable track record of producing good results;

l Lead by example and have a reputation as respected members of their communities;

l Work in the communities and strive to enhance the public understanding and appreciation of these subjects;

l Encourage pupils to discover and explore maths, science or technology projects; and

l Participate in professional associations that help improve the academic and practical experience of the members.

They must also be able to spread public understanding and appreciation of mathematics, science, technology and innovation.