Lifetime honours

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

Conferring lifetime achievement awards for work in community development is a new, yet fitting addition to the yearly Old Mutual, SABC and Sowetan Community Builder of the Year Award process.

Inaugural lifetime achievement award recipients in 2007 were black consciousness movement icon Steve Biko and liberation struggle stalwarts Albertina Sisulu and Beyers Naude.

Conceived by Sowetan's late editor-in-chief Aggrey Klaaste in 1991, the Community Builder Award recognises special, selfless and industrious men and women who give their time and talent to improve the lives of people in their communities.

Biko was killed, Sisulu struggled and Naude was ostracised by his community for their beliefs. These special and very brave people believed that South Africa belongs to all who live in it - rich and poor, black and white.