Women threaten to take over ring

Bongani Magasela

Bongani Magasela

Is the male kingship in South African boxing coming to an end?

This question will be answered next month in Boxing SA's yearly awards at Sand Du Plessis hall in Welkom on February 15.

Two queens, female fighters Noni Tenge and Unathi Myekeni, have been included in the list of five nominees for the prospect of the year award.

These girls from Mdantsane have not put a foot wrong since they burst onto the scene in the male- dominate sport in July last year.

They are contesting the award with Hekkie Budler, Chris van Heerden and Thabiso Mchunu, the Baby Champs junior heavyweight titlist.

Meanwhile, Cassius Baloyi, Mzonke Fana, Isaac Hlatswayo, Muvhuso Nedzanani, Nkosinathi Joyi and Thomas Mashaba are the nominees for the sought-after boxer of the year trophy.

Boxing SA faces a difficult task of selecting the fight of the year. All nominated bouts are hot and they are:

l SA and WBC International welterweight: Bongani Mwelase v Lucky Lewele;

l IBF title fight: Fana v Malcolm Klassen;

l SA junior middleweight: Vincent Vuma v Tshepo Mashego; and

l 10-rounder: Daniel Bruwer v Rupert van Aswegen as well the WBF junior flyweight fight between Nedzanani and Juan Alberto Molina.

Managers Rob McLeod, Nick Durandt, Johnny du Plooy, Zola Koti, Manny Fernandez and Sihle Mnguni contest the manager of the year award, while Koti, Du Plooy, Lennox Mpulampula, Vuyani Bungu, Durandt and McLeod will contest the trainer of the year honours.

The newly introduced knockout of the year award is contested by Thomas Mashaba, who poleaxed Eric Aiken in round nine; IBO champ Nkosinathi Joyi, who stopped Gabriel Pumar in one; IBF king Fana, who stopped Javier Alvarez in nine; and Moruti Mthalane, who stopped Apol Suico in one for the WBC International title.

The promoter of the year award is contested by Showtime, KK, Branco Sports, World Sports, Eyethu and Rainbow Promotions. Xaba, Gabs and Tsebo promotions are nominees for the most promising promoter award.