Cup fever grips NFD

Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Mcelwa Nchabeleng

The Premier Soccer League has confirmed the dates and venues for the preliminary matches of the keenly anticipated Nedbank Cup.

The clashes will decide the eight clubs from the National First Division (NFD) that will compete in the last 32 stage of this new competition.

These teams will be joined by a further eight clubs from the South African Football Association (Safa) and 16 from the Absa Premiership.

All the preliminary matches for the NFD teams will take place on the weekend of January 25, 26 and 27.

While some of the NFD clubs are focusing on winning promotion to the elite league, they are also preparing for the cup competition.

Their coaches argue that doing well in the event will build the players' morale in their league campaign.

There is no doubt that the NFD teams that qualify for the last 32 stage will give their counterparts from the Premiership a good run for their money.

Teams like Bay United, Maritzburg United, FC AK and Dynamos have the gumption to qualify for the last 32 stage of the event.

United have been pitted against African Warriors at Harry Gwala Stadium in Pietermaritzburg on January 25.

The Dynamites welcome FC Cape Town to Lulekani Stadium in Phalaborwa the following day and Bahumi should easily brush aside perennial strugglers Western Province United in Eldorado Park on January 27.


January 25

Harry Gwala: Maritzburg United v Warriors (8pm); Tshwane: University of Pretoria v Nathi Lions (8pm); Chatsworth: Durban Stars v Hanover Park (8pm).

January 26

Ackerville: Witbank Spurs v Ikapa Sporting (3pm); Lulekani: Dynamos v FC Cape Town (3pm); Caledonian: GaRankuwa United v Mpumalanga Black Aces (3pm).

January 27

Eldorado: FC AK v Western Province United (3pm); Seshego: Winnerspark v Bay United (3pm).