Chamanga now after top award

Meshack Motloung

Meshack Motloung

Moroka Swallows' striker James "King Goals" Chamanga intends to live up to his name by clinching the top goalscorer award at the end of the season.

The down-to-earth player, who is now on a par with Orlando Pirates' Excellent Walaza and Free State Stars' Diyo Sibisi on seven goals, confessed that he surprised himself by scoring five goals against Platinum Stars when the Birds won 6-2 in a league game at Germiston Stadium on Sunday.

His feat was a record since the start of the league in 1996.

The 27-year-old Zambian striker, who was on cloud nine when Sowetan spoke to him yesterday, said scoring five goals in a match was beyond his wildest dreams.

"However, we were well prepared for a win after our poor showing in our past games. But I didn't envisage us winning by such a margin," he said.

"The goals came because of teamwork and support from my teammates. I'm praying that I should improve on what I have done in every game.

"My target is to score as many goals as I can to win the top goalscorer award convincingly," he said.

Chamanga said he missed five league games because of injury when he joined Swallows from SuperSport United at the beginning of the season.

"So far I have played seven games, six league and one cup match, but I am confident and determined to do my best in the league.

"I want to prove to myself in every game that I am among the best in the league," he said.

Last year's top goalscorer was Jomo Cosmos' Chris Katongo, who scored 15 goals in the first round before leaving for Denmark, and no player surpassed that mark.

Swallows' Mame Niang won the award by scoring 14 goals in the 2005-06 season and Collins Mbesuma scored 25 goals in the 2004-05 season, which is the highest in the Premiership.

Current top goalscorers:

Seven goals - James Chamanga (Swallows), Diyo Sibisi (Stars) and Excellent Walaza (Bucs).

Six goals - Thembinkosi Fanteni (Ajax Cape Town).

Five goals - Noah Chivuta (Bidvest Wits) and Sandile Ndlovu (Swallows).

Four goals - Fisher Kondowe, (Black Leopards), Russell Mwafulirwa (Ajax), Myron Shongwe (Leopards) and Dumisani Ngwenya (AmaZulu).

Three goals - Shaun Bartlett and Mabhuti Khenyeza, (Kaizer Chiefs), Bennet Chenene (Pirates), Erwin Isaacs, (Santos), Anthony Laffor (Jomo Cosmos), Esrom Nyandoro (Mamelodi Sundowns), Norman Smith and Vusimuzi Vilakazi (Golden Arrows), Prince Olomu and Sifiso Vilakazi (Stars), Bernard Parker (Thanda Royal Zulu).