Safa executives will share R5m

Sello Rabothata

Sello Rabothata

The South African Football Association is pretty happy with itself after what it said was a successful year for the association and will avail R5million to national and regional executive members to share.

This was agreed upon at a special general meeting of the association held at a hotel at OR Tambo International Airport at the weekend.

A statement released after the meeting said members focused on constitutional amendments, honorariums for Safa national and regional executive committee members and a progress report on the 2010 Fifa World Cup.

In a meeting chaired by vice president Mohamed Mubarak, the Safa membership endorsed recommendations by a four-man committee of Danny Jordaan, convenor; David Maans; Vincent Allie and Letima Mogorosi, which was tasked with evaluating contributions of regional and executive committee members for a limited period and of the NEC in the period 2000-2004.

In terms of the recommendations, NEC members will be awarded a once-off full and final payment of R2,5million to be divided equally. The beneficiaries will exclude the president of Safa, Molefi Oliphant, vice president Mubarak; vice president Irvin Khoza; and the CEO of the 2010 Bid Committee Jordaan. Regional executive members will also receive R2,5million "as a token of appreciation for the hard work they discharge in the 52 regions of Safa".

Constitutional amendments were also endorsed to be in line with the Fifa constitution, and to regularise other changes within the association. The membership also welcomed the 2010 Fifa World Cup status report from the Local Organising Committee; the membership also highlighted the importance of accelerating legacy projects that will benefit football.