Awards for writers

Morakabe Raks Seakhoa.
Morakabe Raks Seakhoa.

Edward Tsumele

Seventeen writers will walk away with awards at a glittering South African Literary Awards ceremony next Saturday.

The ceremony will be held at Vodaworld in Midrand.

The awards endeavour to pay homage to living literary practitioners and legends and, where appropriate, to others posthumously.

Those recognised will receive awards in the following three new categories: The Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award (for writing in African languages), K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award (for Young Novelists) as well as the Literary Journalism Award sponsored by Sowetan, under its Aggrey Klaaste Nation Building project, and the SABC.

These join the founding three, first staged in 2005 and 2006. These are the National Poet Laureate Prize, Literary Lifetime Achievement Award and the Literary Posthumous Award.