Yalo wins Vodacom journalism award

Sibongile Mashaba and Langelihle Chagwe

Sibongile Mashaba and Langelihle Chagwe

Sowetan cartoonist Yalo has done it again. Last night he scooped the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Award in the cartoon category at a glittering ceremony in Midrand.

Sfiso Yalo, who last year scooped the regional award in the same category, came out tops after being beaten last year by his predecessor, Zapiro.

Yalo's award-winning cartoon was published on the front page of Sowetan on June15 last year, depicting the different moods (in June 1976 and the same time last year).

The ecstatic Yalo yesterday said all the credit should go to Sowetan because the newspaper "basically propelled and launched my career and I am grateful for the freedom that the editors have given me".

"This is a huge encouragement, and I am very happy," said Yalo last night.

He received R10000 in prize money.

Other winners in different categories included Tanya Faber, Siphiwe Piloso, Mabutho Ngcobo, Mandy Weimer, Hazel Sriedman, Robyn Smith, Carlos Amato, Mandla Khwela and Sandile Nzama.