Changes to SA cricket squad

Meshack Khotha

Meshack Khotha

Cricket South Africa has made three changes to the national women's squad that will compete at the ICC Women's World Cup qualifier in Lahore, Pakistan, next month.

This was confirmed yesterday by the team's manager, Zola Thamae, after the 14-member side was announced at the weekend.

Lonelle De Beer, Alicia Smoth and Shabenim Ismail have been dropped from the squad and will be replaced by Olivia Anderson, Shandrea Fritz and Dinisha Devnerain.

Thamae said they have retained most of the winning team that swept the board in Holland last month in a Test match and three-day one-day internationals.

The South Africans will leave no stone unturned in the upcoming qualifier because the two top ranked teams from that event will qualify for the 2009 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup set for Australia. Cri-Zelda Brits from North West has been appointed the captain of the SA team.

The team will assemble at the High Performance Centre on November 13.

The squad: Brits (captain), Johmari Logtenberg (vice captain), Anderson. Susanna Benade, Trishna Chetty, Devnerain, Mignon du Preeze, Shandre Fritz, Ashlyn Kilowan, Matshipi Letsoalo, Sunette Loubser, Analie Minny, Claire Terblanche, Magdalena Terblanche.