Who will win the prize?

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

The nine newlywed couples competing for the 2006/7 Sowetan and Old Mutual Bridal Couple of the Year Award were announced at Maropeng in Gauteng at the weekend.

They are December winners Sindi and Siyabonga Nyambuse, Mikateko and Vusimuzi Sibeko (January), Willie and Nosipho Tladi (February), Stanford and Palesa Ntsie (March), Kgopotso and Muziwakhe Zondo (April), Kabelo and Tshepo Maredi (May), Muzi and Sarah Nhlapo (June), Kagisho and Phumelele Mgolombane (July) and August winners Majoro and Miriam Mofokeng.

This was the third in a series of prize-giving functions since December last year.

Other participating sponsors of this nation-building project aimed at highlighting marriage as the backbone of any society are SABC2, SABC2's Zwahashu magazine show, Spekko Rice, Galaxy, Aranda, Mageu Number 1, Spencer Bay and Volvo SA.

Couples who wed after May last year were invited to enter by sending in their wedding day head-and-shoulder photographs.

Four finalists are chosen and published monthly in Sowetan. and the winning couple of each month wins fabulous monthly prizes.

During the year, the winning couples receive their prizes at quarterly prize-giving events, and at the end of the competition, the 12 monthly winners attend a gala event where the final winners are selected.

Sowetan readers, who vote for the winners of each month's draw and the final four out of the top 12 monthly winners, also receive prizes. The winning couple will be announced at a glittering gala event at Maropeng on November 24.