Making our country a better place

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

They are humble, hard-working and helping to make South Africa a better place.

The top 12 finalists for the 2007 SABC, Old Mutual and Sowetan Community Builder of the Year Awards are due to be recognised, acknowledged and rewarded at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg on December 6 at 7pm.

The 12 were chosen in Johannesburg on August 16 and 17 from a total of 36 provincial finalists. They were chosen and acknowledged in adjudications and regional functions which were held across South Africa between June 7 and August 7 this year.

These top 12 finalists were first announced nationally on the popular contemporary women's variety show Motswako on SABC2 yesterday.

Carol Bouwer, the programme's pioneering creator, is a keen supporter of the Aggrey Klaaste Nation Building Foundation's work.

The senior category finalists are Leah Dlomo of the Risima Community Project in Limpopo, Maria Manoto of the Emthonjeni Awareness Centre in Gauteng and Maria Farmer of the Luvuyo Drop-in Centre, and:

l Adult category finalists: Noriah Mabunda of the Ndengeza Xizambhani Community Development Centre in Limpopo, Sabina Khoza of the Fair Deal Agricultural Training Centre in Gauteng and Tlalane Mofokeng of the Women Let Us Work Together Project in Free State;

l Youth category finalists: Stuart Nhlathi of the Stuart Nhlathi Science and Engineering Institute in North West, Mafemani Mabunda of the Tinghwazi Arts and Crafts Centre in Limpopo and Mthokozi Mchunu of Nkungu Mathe Community Development Centre;

l Group category finalists: Motsilu Boima of the Kopanong Community Project in Limpopo, Adrina Ramonotshi of the Kgatelopele Project and Nosibongile Jobela of the Masihambisane Project in Eastern Cape.