Defections boost ANC

Waghied Misbach

Waghied Misbach

The African National Congress (ANC) has scored a major coup in parliament, with four MPs defecting to its ranks from opposition parties as the window on the floor-crossing period draws to a close.

The ANC now has 297 MPs out of a total of 400 in the national assembly, according to the party's caucus spokesman Moloto Mothapo. This consolidates its two-thirds majority, which is required to change the Constitution. The four are Vincent Gore (from the DA), Craig Morkel (DA), Nomakhaya Madaka and Zintle Ndlazi (both from the United Independent Movement).

The DA's parliamentary leader, Sandra Botha, slammed Morkel's move to the ANC, saying that "once a crosstitute, always a crosstitute". It is not for the first time that Morkel has changed parties.