Kasrils back in politburo

Eric Naki

Eric Naki

SACP stalwart Ronnie Kasrils, pictured, is back in the party's leadership.

Kasrils is one of four veterans who were co-opted into the all-important politburo at the first meeting of the newly-elected SACP central committee at the weekend.

Others co-optees are Eric Mtshali, John Nkadimeng and Kay Moonsamy. Former national chairman, Charles Nqakula, who was not elected at the Port Elizabeth conference, has again been excluded from the politburo. Sacked former Deputy Health Minister Nozizwe Madlala-Routledge was also elected to the politburo, probably in protest against her dismissal by President Thabo Mbeki.