Mayor reshuffles committee

Frank Maponya

Frank Maponya

The executive mayor of the Sekhukhune district municipality in Limpopo, Namane Masemola, has reshuffled his mayoral committee.

The reshuffling was aimed at strengthening the committee and making it more effective.

Masemola removed three committee members.

In the latest development former mayor of Makhudu Thamaga municipality, Kgaola Mafiri; Jerry Maseko, who has since been appointed parliamentary officer for roads and transport; and Valerie Tshwane, being removed from the mayoral committee.

Morewane Sekhukhune will now head the community services portfolio committee; Mokhulwane Mathale, technical services; and Mosedi Thamaga, human resources and transformation.

Joe Motene, who was head of the municipality's finance committee, will now work in the mayor's office.

The committee started operating in March last year, after the local government elections. It comprised of five full-time and three part-time members.

Of the eight people originally on the committee, only five members were retained.

Selby Makgotho, municipal spokesman, said yesterday that the reason for the reshuffling was to strengthen the administration of district governance and to enhance the performance of the mayoral committee which oversees the day-to-day running of the municipality.