Provincial school champs set to battle it out in playoffs

Richard Nkosi

Richard Nkosi

The nine provincial schools champions for the Coca-Cola Football Stars have been announced.

They are Groblerhoop (Northern Cape), Nolitha (Eastern Cape), Cloetesville (Western Cape), Doasho (Limpopo), Task Academy (Gauteng), Umqhele (Kwa-Zulu Natal), Lindile (Mpumalanga), Ramotshere (North West) and Harmony (Free State).

The schools will battle it out in the national playoffs at Embalenhle in Secunda from April 26 to 29.

Themba Tshabalala, president of the South African Schools Football Association, said a draw will be conducted on April 26.

"The champions will receive R250 000 and the runners-up will pocket R100 000. All the other finalists will receive a consolation prizes of R50 000," he said.

Meanwhile, the 52 players that have been selected from all over the country during the provincial playoffs are currently in camp at Pretoria High Performance Centre undergoing rigorous training.

Trevor Istonebank, operation manager for Mindspace Africa, which is a production company producing the football stars show for said:

"The camp started on Wednesday and will end this next week Wednesday.

"They are under the watchful eyes of Doctor Khumalo, Clive Barker, Trott Moloto and Steve Khompela."

The number of the players will be trimmed from 50 to 18.

The final squad will then leave for Spain to face the Under-18 teams of Real Madrid and Barcelona on May 11 to 18.

On their return, all the players will then be contracted to various Premier Soccer League teams to prepare them for their professional careers

The camp will be screened on every Sunday at 5pm.