Operators poles apart

Namhla Tshisela

Namhla Tshisela

The South African National Taxi Council (Santaco) says it represent all taxi operators in the country and has members in all nine provinces.

Tom Muofhe led the council from its inception in 2001 until 2005. Jabulani Mthembu was elected president last year. Junaid Peters is the national chairman.

Santaco fully supports the national taxi recapitalisation programme.

l The National Taxi Alliance (NTA) was established in 1999. It has affiliates in eight provinces; the exception is the Northern Cape.

The chairman of the NTA is Sicelo Mabaso.

Its affiliates include the Taxi Operators' Pace Initiators Conglomerated Association (Topica), Top Six Taxi Management and the South African Long Distance Taxi Association (SALDTA).

The NTA embarked on a one-day strike to protest against the taxi recapitalisation programme in October and has threatened to take the government to court.