Defender in makeshift U-23 side

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

Winnerspark defender Vincent Kobola has been included in the makeshift South African under-23 national team to participate in an eight- nations tournament in Qatar.

The tournament will take place from January 21 to 31. South Africa are in Group A with Qatar, Japan and United Arab Emirates.

Those in Group B are South Korea, Egypt, Iran and Belarus.

South Africa, whose coach Steve Komphela is back after dumping Maritzburg United, start against UAE on January 23.

In his letter to inform the South African Football Association (Safa) of his decision to withdraw from asking for his full-time contract to be changed to a part-time one, Komphela blamed "irresponsible reporting from the media" for the confusion.

The Komphela saga resulted in Safa and sponsors Sasol agreeing to brush aside their plans of calling a media briefing to announce the team to Qatar.

Safa and the oil company were scared that the briefing was going to turn into a Komphela affair, hence a decision was taken to issue a press release.

United chairman Farouk Kadodia said they were intending taking legal action against Komphela after he had informed them that he did not have a contract with Safa.

Komphela, who has refused to comment on the latest developments, is believed to have signed a contract with United until the end of the season two weeks ago.

The Qatar-bound team is:

Goalkeepers - Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates);

Defenders - Vincent Kobola (Winnerspark), Tumane Khosholo (Bloemfontein Young Tigers), Simon Madibo (United FC), Buti Sithole (Wits University), Kirk Leray (FC AK), Happy Jele (Orlando Pirates), Terrance Mabaso (Sundowns);

Midfielders - Cyril Zuma (Golden Arrows), Michael Nkambule) (SuperSport United), Sibusiso Hadebe (Jomo Cosmos), Lance Davids (Djugardens), Dean Furman (Glasgow Rangers), Oupa Manyisa (African Sports Academy) Goodwill Mthimkhulu ( Sundowns);

Strikers - Bonginkosi Macala (Jomo Cosmos), Nhlanhla Shabalala (Ajax Cape Town), Calvin Kadi (Jomo Cosmos) and Stanton Lewis (Ajax Amsterdam).