Top poet appeals to youth

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

South African National Poet Laureate for 2006 Keorapetse Kgositsile believes the country's literary legacy and heritage can be strengthened if more youth became writers.

"I am happy to have been given this recognition. I wish to see more youth participate in poetry, drama and other artistic disciplines," said Kgositsile.

Minister of arts and culture Pallo Jordan honoured Kgositsile and other writers at this years South African Literary Awards which were held at the San du Plessis Theatre in Bloemfontein at the weekend.

Winners were also chosen from two other categories; the South African Lifetime Achievers Awards and the Posthumous Literary Awards.

The posthumous awards went to Ingoapele Madingoane, James Moiloa, Toek Blignaut and Bessie Head.

Don Monnapula Lebakeng Mattera, Karel Schoeman, Peter Abrahams, Ronnie Govender, Andre Brink, Lewis Nkosi, Lauretta Ngcobo, Ephraim Lesoro, Phyllis Naidoo and DBZ Ntuli won the Lifetime Achievers' Awards.