New and old musos recognised at awards

Prince Chauke

Prince Chauke

The annual Metro FM Music Awards took place at the Telkom Park Rugby Stadium in Port Elizabeth on Saturday night in front of an audience determined to give the people's awards their full support.

The event went off amid much fanfare, with celebrities and fans filling the stadium to capacity.

Teargas claimed ownership of the evening by taking home a total of three awards.

The group walked away with awards for best hip-hop group, best album and best song of the year.

Their song Another Chance was named the year's favourite. It was chosen over music stalwarts Revolution and Kabelo.

Another significant winner on the night was Puleng, who snatched both the best female vocalist award and best newcomer award in what many considered to be the surprise of the evening.

The best male vocalist proved another surprise when newcomer Verd beat Afro-pop king Ringo Madlingozi and F Davies to take home this coveted award.

But it wasn't only the newcomers who took charge of the awards on Saturday night.

The king of kwaito, Arthur Mafokate, proved his considerable staying power when his Best of Arthur album was awarded the best compilation.

DJ Cleo, another familiar face on the South African music scene, was named best club DJ.

Judith Sephuma added yet another award to her name when she was announced as the winner in the best jazz category.

One of the most moving moments of the evening was the posthumous awarding of the Metro FM Lifetime Achievement Award, which went to songwriter and musician Victor Ndlazilwane. This award has in the past been bestowed on Mirriam Makeba, Ladysmith Black Mambazo and Lindelani Mkhize.

Others winners were: Best dance album - Siyanda; best group - Adilah; best R&B - Teepee; best African pop - Mina Nawe; best kwaito - Alaska; and best styled - Chomee.

The event reinforced the tradition of South African music in its acknowledgement of both new and established stars.