WBC waives rule to let Myekeni keep belt

Bongani Magasela

Bongani Magasela

Mhikiza Myekeni will keep his WBC International flyweight belt despite being defeated by Pongsaklek Wonjongkam for the WBC world title last Friday.

The WBC' s rules are simple: A fighter who has been unsuccessful in any contest in the division where he holds one of the WBC titles, is automatically stripped of his title.

But the sanctioning body's big brass were so impressed with Myekeni that they waived their rule after Myekeni's spirited showing against the feared Thai.

They allowed the pint-sized South African, a former national undefeated champion, to keep his international title.

Myekeni is reported to have performed above his ability against the longest-reigning flyweight champion, who registered his 16th title defence.

It was Wonjongkam's 63rd win (31 KOs) against two losses.

Myekeni suffered his third defeat against 21 victories that include eight knockouts.