Tue Oct 17 16:57:21 SAST 2017
SA Weather Service warns of extreme weather

The South African Weather Service has warned of high temperatures on Monday in the northern parts of.

Sangweni's eye for goal unrivalled

By Nick Said | 2013-01-25 07:47:47.0

SIYABONGA Sangweni's opening goal in Bafana Bafana's 2- 0 victory over Angola on Wednesday made him South Africa's highest- scoring defender.

The centre-back showed great technique and composure to volley the ball home at the back post to set the team on their way to victory in their 2013 Africa Cup of Nations Group A clash in Durban. It was his third goal for his country in his 27th appearance, the only defender to have netted as many times for the national side since readmission to international football in 1992.

It moves him ahead of the likes of Mark Fish, Mbulelo Mabizela and Lucas Radebe, who all scored two goals in their national team careers.

It was certainly his most important in a Bafana jersey, the two others both coming in friendly matches. The first was a back-post header against Bulgaria in a pre-2010 Fifa World Cup friendly, before he netted again against Tanzania in a 1-0 win in May 2011 with an excellent diving header.

The Orlando Pirates star is no stranger to finding the back of the net at club level either and has a habit of scoring important goals. He netted in cup wins over Santos (MTN8), former club Golden Arrows (Telkom Knockout) and eThekwini Coastal (Nedbank Cup) in his first season with the club in 2011-12, all matches where his side were struggling for a breakthrough.

He also scored on the final day of the season to help Bucs lift the Absa Premiership title with their 4-2 win at Golden Arrows, his seventh of the campaign. The 31-year-old has been less adventurous this season, but as he proved against the Angolans, he can be a potent weapon in the opposition box.

Bafana's goalscoring defenders:

3 - Siyabonga Sangweni

2 - Mark Fish, Mbulelo Mabizela, Lucas Radebe

1 - Matthew Booth, Philip Evans, Morgan Gould, Sam Kambule, Bongani Khumalo, Aaron Mokoena, Bryce Moon, Nasief Morris, Edward Motale, David Nyathi, Andrew Rabutla, Rudolph Seale, Lucas Thwala.