Tue Oct 17 09:57:23 SAST 2017
Win tickets for the Thor: Ragnarok film screening

Marvel's big green Hulk may not be getting his own standalone movie but actor Mark Ruffalo, who play.

Chiefs lead pack with 3 TKO titles

By Mazola Molefe | 2012-11-30 07:46:07.0

KAIZER Chiefs remain the team with the most Telkom Knockout titles despite missing out on this year's final tomorrow night at the Moses Mabhida Stadium.

Mamelodi Sundowns and Bloemfontein Celtic seek their first Knockout title this weekend, but it is Amakhosi who still lead the pack with three winners' medals since the inaugural final in 2006, which was clinched by Silver Stars (now Platinum Stars).

And Chiefs have collected silverware in this competition under just two different coaches: Muhsin Ertugral, who won the cup in 2007 and Vladimir Vermezovic twice in one year. This was because the PSL season was shortened ahead of the 2010 World Cup and the tournament was played in April that year and later in December.

Besides Chiefs and Stars, Ajax CT and Orlando Pirates, who failed to defend their title this year, are the only other teams to hoist the TKO.

A new trophy was launched in October for this season, marking the renewal of the sponsorship deal between Telkom and the PSL for five more years.

Sundowns came close to winning the tournament in 2007, but faced a more determined Chiefs side then.

Celtic are making their debut in the TKO final and are eager to end their seven-year trophy drought.

Top goal scorers:

Hareaipha "Simba" Marumo (Silver Stars) - 6 goals in 2006.

Lerato Chabangu (Sundowns) - 4 goals in 2007.

Diyo Sibisi (FS Stars); Richard Henyekane (Arrows); Patrick Malokase (Celtic); Sifiso Vilakazi, Mabhuti Khenyeza (Ajax CT) - all scored 3 in 2008.

Ndumiso Mabena (Pirates); Stanton Lewis (Ajax CT); Tebogo Langerman (SS United); Dumisani Ngwenya (AmaZulu); Benedict Vilakazi (Sundowns); Mandla Masango (Chiefs) - 2 goals in 2009.

S'thembiso Ngcobo (Chiefs) - 3 goals in 2010.

Benni McCarthy (Pirates) - 3 goals in 2011.