Wed Oct 26 06:03:32 SAST 2016
Mkhwebane leaves Zuma‚ Van Rooyen interdicts

The new public protector says she will leave the dispute over the state capture report prepared by h.

A true battle of Davids, Goliaths

By Patience Bambalele | Mar 12, 2010 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

THE South African Music Awards this year will be a true battle of Davids and Goliaths of the recording industry.

THE South African Music Awards this year will be a true battle of Davids and Goliaths of the recording industry.

After the announcement of the nominees last week, local companies have started bragging that their stars who have made it to the list.

On April 16 and 17 companies such as Sony Music, Gallo Records, Electromode, Sheer Sound, Universal, EMI and Bula Music, among others, will compete for supremacy. The awards will take place at the Sun City Superbowl in Rustenburg.

Leading the pack is Sonny Music with a total of 36 nominations. The company has nine nominations in the five major categories.

Some of their big stars who are nominated in the Samas include Joyous Celebration, Lira, Louise Carver, Benjamin Dube, Fort Knox, Loyiso, Malaika, Dozi, Dewald Louw, Willem Botha, Blk Sonshine, NKD, Sasha-Lee, Marius Brouwer, DJ Nutty Nys, Protocultur, Marius Brouwer, George Maluleke, Candy, Tumi and TKZee, and Impumelelo.

Gallo Records received 14 nominations and the company's trusted star, Thandiswa Mazwai, has been nominated twice.

In the tightly contested MTN record of the year category, Gallo Records will be represented by Thembi Seete and Mazwai.

Other musicians who have received nominations are Adam Glasser, Gan Golan, Mapfohlosela, Tshigomboza, Zozo and Sangere Superbeat, Phuz'ekhemisi, Joe Nina, KB, Charisma as well as Kgotso.

Breathing heavily down in Gallo Records' neck is Sheer Sound. The company boasts two nominations in the best adult contemporary category.

Farryl Purkiss and Laurie Levine are the two artists representing Sheer Sound.

The company will also be represented by Oliver Mtukudzi, Brian Temba, Martin Rocka, Rockabilly Rockers, Hog Hoggidy Hog, Brian Thusi, Bongi, Collin and Brian O'Shea and the Jaziel Brothers.

Electromode, one of the fast growing small recording companies, got eight nominations. The stable's famous group, Teargas, has received three nominations.

Hip-hop sensation JR is also nominated with Teerpad, Kry Rigting, Die Heuwels Fantasties, Voodoo Child's, The Black Hotels.

Bula Music got two nominations: Sechaba Pali in the best traditional gospel album and Thokozani Langa in the best maskandi album.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT