Mon Oct 24 07:23:45 CAT 2016
Limpopo premier Stan Mathabatha with Zweli Mkhize and Thoko Didiza
ANC leadership begins candidate review

The African National Congress is starting its “dispute resolution process” in a bid to address the a.


By unknown | Nov 19, 2009 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

LEGENDARY Irish racehorse Sea The Stars was named horse of the year on Tuesday at the Cartier Awards.

LEGENDARY Irish racehorse Sea The Stars was named horse of the year on Tuesday at the Cartier Awards.

Sea The Stars - who won an historic treble of the 2000 Guineas, the Epsom Derby and the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe, as well as three other Group One races this season - also scooped the three-year-old accolade.

John Oxx, the trainer of Sea The Stars - who has since been retired to stud at the Aga Khan's Gilltown Stud in Ireland - was also rewarded with the Award of Merit, for the greatest contribution to British racing in the past 12 months.

Sea the Stars saw off Aidan O'Brien's Mastercraftsman, French two-time Breeders Cup heroine Goldikova, Sir Michael Stoute's Conduit - also a two-time Breeders Cup hero - and English 1000 Guineas heroine Ghanaati, to win the top annual award.

Goldikova - trained by Freddie Head who became the first person to train and ride two Breeders Cup champions in consecutive years as Miesque's rider - won the consolation prize of best Older Horse.

She beat off Conduit, sprinter Fleeting Spirit, doughty English filly Dar Re Mi - owned by musical composer Lord Andrew Lloyd Webber's wife Madeleine - and French colt Vision d'Etat to the title.

The unbeaten St Nicholas Abbey was named best two-year-old, beating Siyouni, Awzaan, Arcano and Pounced.

In the filly awards, Special Duty was named best two-year-old, with Sariska winning the award for the best three-year-old.

Irish stayer Yeats made a bit of history with his fourth Cartier award as he was named Champion Stayer of the year after becoming the first horse to win four consecutive Ascot Gold Cups.

Fleeting Spirit was named sprinter of the year after her win in the Group One July Cup at Newmarket. - Sapa AFP


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT