Thu Oct 27 07:18:32 CAT 2016

Varsity to use African languages

By Nthabisang Moreosele | Sep 14, 2009 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

THE University of Johannesburg will launch its new language policy onWednesday.

The policy will introduce Sesotho sa Leboa, English, Afrikaans and Zulu as the UJ's official languages.

"The four UJ official languages and their associative cultures are the cornerstone of creating a unique and distinct UJ community but coexisting with peer institutions and the rest of South Africa," said Mpho Monareng, head of the language policy unit.

Monareng said the policy was adopted in 2005 and was slowly given structure so that the two extra languages could become part of university life.

He said the two languages would help transform the campuses and also be in compliance with the constitution, that puts emphasis on multilingualism and multiculturalism.

Most higher education institutions have adopted African languages to comply with transformation.

Cape Town University has elevated IsiXhosa and Southern Sotho, while Pretoria University has added on IsiNdebele and Sepedi.

The universities are acting on recommendations made by the ministerial committee under Professor Jakes Gerwel that they need to develop multiculturalism by taking up two or three African languages.

"We cannot teach in IsiZulu at the moment but this is a progressive step where memos, announcements and communications will be in the four languages.

"The language policy will change the image of the university to a blend of the four languages. We want the UJ community to be distinct from other universities," Monareng said.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT