Tue Oct 25 08:43:39 SAST 2016
Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Des Van Rooyen. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Van Rooyen suddenly withdraws his interdict

In another twist involving the public protector’s office‚ the Minister of Co-operative Governance an.

31 make SABC board shortlist

By unknown | Sep 03, 2009 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

PARLIAMENT's communications portfolio committee yesterday announced a shortlist of 31 people for the new SABC board.

The committee will now have to choose 12 permanent members from the 31 names, who include Sowetan columnist and author William Mervin Gumede, veteran journalist Max du Preez, broadcasters Clare O'Neil, Ntebo Peri and Kenneth Herold, scientist and IT expert Tebogo Makgatho, Trevor Manuel's biographer Pippa Green and academics Danfred Titus, Sheila Mmusi and David Masoma.

Unlike the last board where labour was completely excluded, eight Cosatu nominees made the shortlist yesterday.

DA MP Niekie van den Bergh said the list was a "good consensus list of all parties". - Anna Majavu


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT