Sat Oct 22 11:05:26 SAST 2016

Mbeki supporters don't make ANC candidates list

By Alex Matlala | Jul 10, 2009 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

THE ANC in Limpopo continues to be ravaged by divisions that played themselves out before the party's 2007 Polokwane conference.

Those who supported former president Thabo Mbeki still face the wrath of victorious Jacob Zuma supporters.

As the party prepares to hold regional elective conferences in the Mopani, Capricorn and Vhembe regions, those who were known to be supporters of Mbeki and former Limpopo chairperson Sello Moloto have been excluded from the candidates' list.

The conferences, from next month until September, come after the ANC national working committee set aside September as the deadline for all provinces to hold their regional conferences.

In the Capricorn region the names of the likes of former MEC for public works Machuene Semenya, executive mayor for Capricorn district, councillor Motalane Monakedi, Chuene Malebana and Noko Keetse - all former Mbeki and Moloto supporters - have been excluded.

ANC Youth League regional chairperson James Mankge said those proposed for the top five key positions were former Polokwane municipality mayor Lawrence Mapoulo as chairperson, Blouberg municipality mayor Serite Sekgolwane as deputy chairperson, regional SACP member James Mankge as secretary, senior manager in the office of the education MEC Johanna Aphiri as deputy secretary and Aganang municipality speaker Lucas Ntsewa as treasurer.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT