Thu Oct 27 05:16:25 SAST 2016
Former Wits SRC President Mcebo Dlamini. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Dlamini ‘in facility where gays and police are placed’

Gauteng Community Safety MEC Sizakele Nkosi-Malobane on Tuessday reassured the public that student l.

Backing for ref Damon

By unknown | Apr 28, 2009 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Mcelwa Nchabeleng

Refereeing expert Sylvester Ndaba says though it is not part of the laws of the game, referees are not prohibited from collecting the ball from the net after a goal had been scored.

He was reacting to an incident during the Black Leopards-Moroka Swallows Nedbank Cup semifinal match at Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane on Saturday night that Swallows won 2-1.

Many were flummoxed when referee Jerome Damon collected the ball from the net and took it to the centre after Jabu Maluleke scored for Lidoda Duvha on the stroke of full time.

"There is nothing wrong with this. A referee can collect the ball from the net and take it to the centre after a goal has been scored. This is man management principles," Ndaba told Sowetan yesterday, explaining that these are designed to prevent potential clashes among players.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT