Thu Oct 27 20:49:10 SAST 2016
Order restored at Sun City Prison after fiery protest over inmates’ TVs

Correctional Services said that “matters are under control” at Johannesburg’s Sun City Prison on Wed.

Heat's on at Samas

By unknown | Mar 20, 2009 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Edward Tsumele

Edward Tsumele

This year the highly contested South African Music Awards are being led by multi-cultural alternative music group 340ml, who are ahead of the pack with five nominations.

The reggae-rockish music group has been nominated in the Best Group/Duo, Album of the Year, Best Producer, Best Alternative Album: English, and MTN Record of the Year categories.

Rhythmic Elements, another alternative music group, is a close second with three nominations in the MTN Record of the Year, Best Urban Dance Album and Album of the Year categories.

At a media conference in Johannesburg last night, it also emerged that Gang of Instrumentals, another alternative music group, has scored two nominations in the MTN Record of the Year (Woza December) and the Best Urban Pop Album (Round 3) categories.

Mafikizolo band member Theo Kgosinkwe has also been acknowledged for his solo efforts by being nominated in two categories - Best Pop Album: African, and Best Male Artist - for his debut solo album I am.

Also sharing the same number of nominations is rapper Zuluboy, who has been given the judges' nod in the Best Male Artist and Best Rap Album categories. Songstress Lira also stands the same chance of winning two statuettes at the Samas as she too has been nominated twice - in the Best Female Artist and MTN Record of the Year categories.

The Bala Brothers stand a chance to win in the Best Duo/Group, and Best Afrikaans Gospel Album for their efforts in Strome Van Seen.

The Best Contemporary Jazz Album category will see a fight between Hugh Masekela, Judith Sephuma, The Moreira Project, and Zamajobe.

Competing for the Best Female Artist category are Josie Field, Judith Sephuma, Lira, Siphokazi and Zamajobe. In the Best Male Artist category, the contest is between Abdullah Ibrahim, Bhekimuzi Luthuli, Chris Chameleon, Kgosinkwe, and Zuluboy. The Best Kwaito Album will either go to Big Nuz, Brickz, Mzekezeke, Sanza, Tabalaza or Thebe.

The MTN Sama awards will take place on the first weekend of May at Sun City.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT