Sat Oct 22 13:57:22 SAST 2016

The who's who of the Cope's election list

By unknown | Mar 04, 2009 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

It is official, Sello Moloto has resigned as Limpopo premier and ANC member.

It is official, Sello Moloto has resigned as Limpopo premier and ANC member.

Moloto is on the list of parliamentary candidates of the Congress of the People. He is also Cope's nominee for premier of Limpopo.

Former deputy president of the country Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka is not on Cope's list.

Cope president Mosiuoa Lekota is number two behind presidential candidate Mvume Dandala, relatively unknown Lynda Odendaal takes third place, with Cope treasurer Hilda Ndude in fourth place.

Former Gauteng premier Mbhazima Shilowa is number five on the list, Mluleki George is seventh while former ANC spokesman Smuts Ngonyama trails at ninth place.

Moloto, Mlambo-Ngcuka and former ANC bigwig Saki Macozama were among the three names submitted by Cope to the Independent Electoral Commission for provincial and national positions in the next elections.

The ANC's provincial executive committee has through the ANC NEC deployee in Limpopo Mathole Motshekga endorsed Greater Sekhukhune executive mayor and deputy chairman of the ANC Namane Dickson Masemola to replace Moloto in the legislature.

In a show of support for the Cope's sometimes controversial youth leader, Anele Mda is number 10 on the list.

It will be touch and go for former Eastern Cape premier Nosimo Balindlela, who is number 11 on the list.

The "D Bloem" at number 30 on Cope's list seems to be a mystery candidate.

Cope said it was Dennis Bloem, the ANC's fiery correctional services committee chair, who has often clashed with prisons minister Ngconde Balfour.

But Bloem has denied it's him.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT