Mon Oct 24 00:18:13 SAST 2016
Plea for a 72-hour break from Fees Must Fall

Open letter to South Africa’s students‚ universities and government‚ represented by Minister in the .

Literary awards for our nation's best writers

By unknown | Jul 11, 2008 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

The South African Literary Awards pays tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as producers and creators of literature.

Selections are made from published authors whose primary input is in imaginative writing. It must demonstrate:

l Good linguistic presentation;

l The South African nation's unique identity;

l Societal values, universal truths and cultural aesthetics;

l A contribution to social cohesion and nation-building and transcendence of time.

The awards are organised by wRite Associates, the Arts and Culture Department, the SABC, Sowetan and Nutrend Publishing. Winners are awarded the:

l K Sello Duiker Memorial Award;

l Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award;

l Posthumous Literary Award;

l Lifetime Achievement Literary Award;

l Literary Journalism Award;

l Translators Literary Award.

The closing date for submissions is September 15.

For more information telephone 011-791-3585 or 011-791-4102, e-mail, visit, write to SA Literary Awards, PO Box 4488, Randburg, 2125, or fax 011-791-4125.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT