Mon Oct 24 23:57:29 SAST 2016
Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Des Van Rooyen. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Van Rooyen suddenly withdraws his interdict

In another twist involving the public protector’s office‚ the Minister of Co-operative Governance an.

Motshekga gets nod to lead women's league

By unknown | Jul 07, 2008 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Nkosana Lekotjolo

Nkosana Lekotjolo

Gauteng MEC for Education and ANC provincial deputy chairman Angie Motshekga is the new president of the ANC Women's League.

Motshekga trounced outgoing league general secretary Bathabile Dlamini by almost 300 votes in the fiercely contested race at the Free State University Vista campus at the weekend.

Motshekga beat Dlamini by 1826 to 1531 votes.

Former ANCWL president Winnie Madikizela-Mandela was nominated from the floor. But after she failed to reach the 25 percent threshold required for nominations from the floor and left the conference.

Motshekga's deputy is Nosipho Ntwanambi, Sisi Tolashe is the new general secretary and Mpai Mogorosi was elected deputy general secretary.

Both Tolashe and Mogorosi were elected unopposed. The position of treasurer was scooped by Hlengiwe Mkhize.

Dlamini, who did not make it to the top five positions, was seen leaving the hall after the new leadership was announced.

The conference started on Wednesday and ended yesterday.

About 4000 delegates attended the gathering.

There was robust campaigning on Friday, particularly for the position of president.

The campaigning for Motshekga and Dlamini was marred by controversy on Saturday. Some delegates were seen waving posters with the names of their preferred candidate and chanting songs about them.

While the ANCWL leadership had earlier said such action would be against the rules, it turned a blind eye to the incident, claiming not to have seen any such posters.

The delegates braved the chilly weather to await the results of the vote, which were to be announced in the early hours of Saturday.

But counting was completed only on Saturday night. The results were announced yesterday.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT