Sat Oct 22 23:49:29 SAST 2016

SA's literary greats to be honoured

By unknown | Jun 11, 2008 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Victor Mecoamere

Victor Mecoamere

Honouring South Africa's emerging and established literary greats assumes a new, promising hue with the forthcoming launch of a collection of works by some of the winners of the annual SA Literary Award.

It is known as the Band of Troubadours.

A nation-building project of wRite Associates, in partnership with the Department of Arts and Culture, the SABC, Sowetan and Nutrend Publishing, the SA Literary Award was launched in 2005, and seeks to promote a healthy culture of reading and writing, and gives to deserving winners the following:

l K Sello Duiker Memorial Award;

l Nadine Short Story Award;

l SA Literary Award Literary Posthumous Award;

l Literary Achievement Award; and

l The Sowetan and SABC Literary Journalism Awards for print, radio and journalism.

Band of Troubadours will be launched on Sunday at the Marimba Restaurant inside the Cape Town Convention Centre - as part of the Cape Town International Book Fair.

The works of all the 43 award recipients since 2005 will be on offer.

These include Nobel Laureate Nadine Gordimer, National Poet Laureate Keorapetse Kgositsile and world-renowned poets and authors Lewis Nkosi, André Brink and Ingoapele Madingoane.

Head of wRite Associates, Raks Seakhoa, said this week: "Band of Troubadours takes on the crucial role of the griot that is the record, the archive and the mirror of a people's excellence in the art of all time.

"In this book, poetry, short story, essays and personal anecdotes are collected and showcased to capture the thoughts, ideas, values, experiences, hopes, frustrations and dreams of a nation for over a period that stretches more than six decades."

Other Band of Troubadours launches will be held in Eastern Cape on July 4, Gauteng on July 11, Limpopo on July 19 and Mpumalanga on July 26.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT