Mon Oct 24 00:25:49 CAT 2016
Plea for a 72-hour break from Fees Must Fall

Open letter to South Africa’s students‚ universities and government‚ represented by Minister in the .

Gauteng crowned

By unknown | Apr 21, 2008 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Matome Lebea

Matome Lebea

Gauteng came from two goals down to beat North West 4-3 to clinch the Safa-Metropolitan U-19 National Championships trophy in front of a partisan crowd at Seshego Stadium, Limpopo, on Saturday.

On their road to the final, North West pipped Mpumalanga 2-1 while Gauteng were made to sweat before overcoming KwaZulu-Natal 11-10 through penalty shoot-out.

In the losers' finals, KwaZulu-Natal drubbed Mpumalanga 9-2 in a one-sided match.

The opening minutes of the final match were evenly-contested, with both teams searching for an early goal. North West were the first to score through Mpho Mvelase in the 14th minute, whose curling shot from a free kick gave keeper Wesley Strydom no chance.

Thabo Rakhale almost levelled the score in the 35th minute, only to be denied by Goalkeeper of the Tournament, Pule Boalefa.

Itumeleng Ganabo made it 2-0 two minutes into the second half.

Gauteng's fighting spirit was rewarded when Thokozani Sekothong scored in the 65th and 67th minutes to level matters.

Darius McCarthy's solo effort restored North West's lead in the 75th minute, but their joy was short-lived when Leroy Fisher struck five minutes later.

Rakhale, who walked with the Man of the Match award, scored Gauteng's victorious goal in the last minute of the match.

Metropolitan All Stars team:

Goalkeepers: Strydom, Pule Boelefa (NW); Ayanda Dlamini (KZN). Defenders: Mphumelelo Mbohambi, Siyabonga Kunene (KZN); Bhekisizwe Nkosi, Thabang Ramaoka, Leago Seropeng (GP); Ayanda Klaas, Ettiene Saptoe (EC); Junior Diale, Themba Nontshela (NW). Midfielders: Tiego Masango, Thabo Rakhale (GP); Sizwe Ngwenya (MP); Sandile Mabele, Darius McCarthy, Mvelase, Khumbulani Mdluli, Khaya Langa, Bongane Tshabalala (KZN); Wandisile Letlabika, Sibusiso Methula (EC); Thapelo Ndlovu (NC). Strikers: Fisher, Setlogong, Zungu Zenele (KZN); Manqoba Lubisi (MP); Leshaba Pule (MP); and Thabo Rakhale (GP).


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT