Tue Oct 25 12:33:54 CAT 2016
Former Wits SRC President Mcebo Dlamini. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Reports that Dlamini on hunger strike false

Correctional Services spokesman Manelisi Wolela has denied allegations that student leader Mcebo Dla.

Not over until conference - ANCYL chief

By unknown | Nov 29, 2007 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Alex Matlala and Eric Naki

ANC Youth League president Fikile Mbalula has warned that the race for the ANC presidency was not won until the end of the national conference scheduled for Limpopo in two week's time.

Mbalula was speaking at a birthday party of Patty Kgobe, managing director of Labelle magazine in Polokwane on Tuesday.

The party was attended by, among others Economic Development and Tourism MEC Collins Chabane, ANCYL provincial secretary Julius Malema and Serobi Maja, chief executive of the Limpopo casino and gambling board.

"We will only declare the race over after the announcement of the results of the conference in Polokwane in December," Mbalula said.

He added: "We as young lions will continue to roar and fight until the last drop of our blood in support of Msholozi for the presidency."

Mbalula was referring to their support for ANC deputy president Jacob Zuma to take over the party leadership.

Addressing journalists yesterday, Mbalula added that the support for Zuma represented the will of the party membership.

He said the league will not campaign or ask Thabo Mbeki to step down as a candidate for the party presidency as he had a democratic right to stand for elections.

"We have no right to ask anybody who has been nominated to step down. It's undemocratic. Mbeki has a democratic right to stand," he said.

"The wishes of the people... must be expressed in a democratic process."

Of the 38 regions of the league, 34 have nominated Zuma while only two voted for Mbeki.

The league welcomed the results showing Zuma had taken four of the five provinces and won both ANCYL and ANC Women's League vote at recent nomination conferences.

The ANCYL was the first ANC structure to announce its top-six preferred candidates for the ANC leadership, consisting of Zuma, Kgalema Motlanthe for deputy president, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma as national chairman, Gwede Mantashe to be the general secretary, Baleka Mbete for deputy general secretary and Mathews Phosa for treasurer.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT