Tue Oct 25 03:27:07 CAT 2016
Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Des Van Rooyen. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Van Rooyen suddenly withdraws his interdict

In another twist involving the public protector’s office‚ the Minister of Co-operative Governance an.

Awards for writers

By unknown | Nov 28, 2007 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Edward Tsumele

Seventeen writers will walk away with awards at a glittering South African Literary Awards ceremony next Saturday.

The ceremony will be held at Vodaworld in Midrand.

The awards endeavour to pay homage to living literary practitioners and legends and, where appropriate, to others posthumously.

Those recognised will receive awards in the following three new categories: The Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award (for writing in African languages), K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award (for Young Novelists) as well as the Literary Journalism Award sponsored by Sowetan, under its Aggrey Klaaste Nation Building project, and the SABC.

These join the founding three, first staged in 2005 and 2006. These are the National Poet Laureate Prize, Literary Lifetime Achievement Award and the Literary Posthumous Award.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT