Tue Oct 25 01:45:07 SAST 2016
Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Des Van Rooyen. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Van Rooyen suddenly withdraws his interdict

In another twist involving the public protector’s office‚ the Minister of Co-operative Governance an.

'Big Easy' out for fourth win

By unknown | Nov 12, 2007 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Meshack Motloung

Meshack Motloung

After showing signs of recovery from his knee injury, Ernie Els won the SAA Open and he will now be back in Sun City to take part in the Nedbank Golf Challenge.

The competition, which was started in 1981 and won by Johnny Miller, has been changing hands since then, with a number of exciting golfers winning it.

Only three players have won it three times: that is Els, Nick Price and David Frost, and the "Big Easy" is looking forward to register his fourth win in the event that tees off at the Gary Player Country Club from November 29 to December 2.

Four golfers won it twice and they are Seve Ballesteros, Bernhard Langer, Sergio Garcia and Jim Furyk.

Ballesteros and Langer will not be playing this season and the challenge for catching up with Els, Price and Frost will be between Furyk, the defending champion and Garcia.

Retief Goosen is the last South African to have won the Nedbank Golf Challenge, having triumphed in 2004, and he could again just be the player to watch this year.

Other players to watch are Australian Adam Scott, Padraig Harrington from Ireland, Justin Rose from England, Henrik Stenson from Sweden and Garcia from Spain.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT