Thu Oct 27 09:03:18 CAT 2016

Zuma tops Limpopo's election candidates

By unknown | Oct 19, 2007 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Frank Maponya

Frank Maponya

Limpopo's most influential ANC branch has nominated the party's deputy president Jacob Zuma as its preferred candidate for president.

The ANC's Ike Maphoto branch in Polokwane has declared its nominations ahead of the organisation's national conference to be held in Limpopo in December.

Despite the branch's strong support for Zuma and therefore leaning towards the left, it has showed its confidence in the sidelined Cosatu president, Willie Madisha, by nominating him among its additional NEC candidates.

The branch, which held its general meeting on Wednesday, is regarded as the most influential in the province. Most of the province's opinion makers including MPs and MPLs MECs, business people and senior public servants belong to the branch.

Topping the branch's list is Zuma, followed by Kgalema Motlanthe as deputy president; Foreign Affairs Minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, national chairman; SACP chairman Gwede Mantashe secretary-general; Parliament speaker, Baleka Mbete deputy secretary; and former Mpumalanga premier Mathews Phosa, treasurer-general. The list reflects the same sentiment as that recently announced by the ANC Youth League and Cosatu.

While Zuma supporters' national list excluded most members from Limpopo, the Ike Maphoto branch has added several other top names from the province to their list.

These include Sello Moloto, the Premier of Limpopo.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT