Sat Oct 22 23:36:49 CAT 2016

Goalie hero of United in Cup shootout

By unknown | Oct 04, 2007 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

Ramatsiyi Moholoa

Katlego Loke steered Benoni United to the quarterfinals of the Telkom Knockout after converting a sudden death penalty against Orlando Pirates at Ellis Park last night.

United's penalty scorers were Bernard Parker, Brian Kgafane, Tshepo Mashishi and Clement Mazibuko while Bennett Chenene, Innocent Mdledle, Lucky Lekgwathi and Teko Modise scored for Pirates.

The star of the match was Lance Nievenhuis, the United goalkeeper who made several breathtaking saves.

Pirates started the game like a house on fire.

Bucs striker Paulus Masehe tasted Nievenhuis with a thunderous shot that the goalkeeper superbly fisted it for a corner in the ninth minute.

And although they lost, Pirates looked more organised in this a debut for coach Owen da Gama. Da Gama joined the Bucs last week from Platinum Stars where he won the inaugural Telkom Knockout.

In the 20th minute the Ghost booed Serge Djiehoua after he got injured and was replaced by Clement Mazibuko.

Da Gama's influence showed with players like Bennett Chenene, Teko Modise and Excellent Walaza shooting from all angles.

Pirates came close to scoring in the 35th minute when Jorry Merahe shot wide with Nievenhuis - for once - at sea.

Pirates started the second half by introducing Tonic Tshabalala for Bongani Cashibe.

Bucs goalkeeper Francis Chansa made a brilliant save from Ryan Botha's well taken free kick in the 60th minute.

Ten minutes later Pirates Tlou Segolela came on for Merahe to unlock United on the right flank.

The Bucs made their third substitution when Rudzani Ramudzuli came on for Walaza, while Brian Kgafane replaced Sibusiso Zwane for United.

Pirates might have dominated in this game but the KwaZulu/Natal side were definitely no pushovers.

Lucky Lekgwathi finally broke the deadlock in the 91st minute but Bernard Parker equalised in the 113th minute.

United are likely to be charged by the PSL after submitting their team list bearing the name Thanda Royal Zulu.

It came after PSL's Andrew Dipela said they must not use the name as it has not been approved by the league.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT