Fri Oct 21 18:36:30 CAT 2016

Relief as MEC clears 'listed' test centres

By unknown | Sep 27, 2007 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Elisha Molefe

Elisha Molefe

North West's department of transport, roads and community safety yesterday lifted the suspension on three driver's licence centres in the province with immediate effect.

Department spokesman Mandla Mathebula said the centres were closed after the department found a number of deficiencies. These included poor maintenance of testing areas - such as faded markings and signage - lack of necessary equipment, a lack of full-time centre management and poor communication with licence applicants.

The three centres are Stilfontein, Klerksdorp and Orkney, all based in the Matlosana Municipality.

"The three centres were initially among the five centres suspended by MEC Phenye Vilakazi. The Potchefstroom testing centre in the Tlokwe Municipality and Fochville in the Merafong Municipality were removed from the list after a last-minute inspection found that they had corrected the deficiencies," said Mathebula.

But Vilakazi has permanently withdrawn the authority to issue driver's licences from Coligny testing centre in the Ditsobotla Municipality. This was after it was discovered that the testing centre could not be improved to comply with regulations.

Mathebula added that that the Ditsobotla municipality has been advised to construct a new testing ground, and that it would only be allowed to issue learner's licences and not driver's licences.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT