Fri Oct 28 16:03:19 CAT 2016
Gender equality - Stock image
Security guards get two years’ pay after being fired for being women

Twenty-eight female guards were unfairly dismissed by a security company because the client‚ Metrora.

SA's best businesswomen compete for coveted title

By unknown | Jul 10, 2007 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Lihle Mtshali

Lihle Mtshali

The Businesswoman's Association (BWA) announced yesterday the five finalists for the Businesswoman of the Year Award.

The award, which has been recognising successful women in business since 1980, is sponsored by Nedbank and honours businesswomen in two categories.

The finalists in the Corporate Businesswoman category are Thoko Mokgosi-Mwantembe, chief executive of HP South Africa; Ingrid Davis, director of pharmacy and procurement at Netcare; and Ntombizine Madyibi, chief financial officer for East London Industrial Development Zone.

Agatha Pretorius, chief executive of Occupational Care SA and Renee Silverstone, chief executive of advertising agency The Jupiter Drawing Room, were announced as the finalists in the Entrepreneu-rial Businesswoman category.

"This year's deserving finalists represent a diversity of industries, illustrating yet again that women can excel in any given role," said BWA president Basetsana Kumalo.

Nedbank, the sole corporate sponsor of the awards, has been partnering with the BWA for the past seven years.

The finalists will be judged this week and winners in each category will be announced next month.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT