Tue Oct 25 08:49:48 SAST 2016
Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Des Van Rooyen. Picture Credit: Gallo Images
Van Rooyen suddenly withdraws his interdict

In another twist involving the public protector’s office‚ the Minister of Co-operative Governance an.

Defenders dominate Bucs' awards ceremony

By unknown | Jul 03, 2007 | COMMENTS [ 0 ]

Sipho Mthembu

Defenders reigned supreme at Orlando Pirates' end-of-season awards held in Johannesburg last night.

Of the nine players' awards, the hard men took four and the fifth went to their last line, Francis Chansa, who won the best save category. Young left-back Innocent Mdledle lifted the biggest award of the night when he was crowned the club's player of the season.

It was a justified reward for the determined youngster whose services are fast becoming the subject of a tug-of-war between Bafana Bafana and the Olympic team.

Central defender Lucas Thwala has earned the respect of his teammates, who voted him the players' player of the year.

Lucky Lekgwathi, who enjoyed a fairytale run in the second half of the season, scoring in three consecutive matches towards the end, walked away with the most improved player award.

Lehlohonolo Seema proved a hit with website supporters who overwhelmingly voted in his favour in an online poll.

Despite seeing less action than usual, the club's gentleman, Joseph Makhanya, won the prized chairman's award that recognises commitment and behaviour on an off the field. Bennet Chenene is the new prospect of the year while rookie Excellent Walaza scored the best goal.

Categories and winners: Vodacom player of the year - Mdledle; Sansui player's player of the year - Thwala; Vodacom most improved player - Lekgwathi; chairman's award - Makhanya; prospect of the year - Chenene; golden boot - Benedict Vilakazi; Standard Bank save of the year - Chansa v Bloemfontein Celtic (Absa Cup); goal of the year - Walaza v Benoni Premier United (Nov 12 2006); www.orlandopiratesfc.com player of the year - Seema; best supporters' branch - Greater Tshwane.


Login OR Join up TO COMMENT