Sat Oct 21 14:14:07 SAST 2017
Remembering reggae legend Lucky Dube (Photos)

To mark 10 years since Lucky Dube's death, his former recording company, Gallo Records, will release.

Isibaya reigns supreme at the 2014 Royalty Soapie Awards - PHOTOS

By SowetanLive | 2014-03-10 10:43:52.0

It was lights, camera, and action last Saturday in SA’s warmest city as Durban hosted the first Royalty Soapie awards at the International Conference Center (ICC).

Newcomer, Isibaya walked away with 10 awards but were unable to clinch the coveted award for Most Popular Soapie voted by the public, which went to Binnerland.

Isibaya which airs on Mzansi Magic scooped all the major awards including Outstanding Soapie, Outstanding Lead Actor (Siyabonga Twala) and Outstanding Lead Actress (Thembi Nyandeni).

They also dominated the technical categories including Outstanding Directing, Outstanding Art Direction, Outstanding Make-Up, Outstanding Casting Director, Outstanding Lighting and Outstanding Editing.

Despite receiving 13 nominations, Generations went home empty handed, while SABC2’s 7de Laan scooped three awards for Outstanding Supporting Actor (Hennie Jacobs), Outstanding Supporting Actress (Annelize van der Ryst) and Outstanding Newcomer (Simoné Nortmann)

SABC3’s Isidingo clinched the Outstanding Male Villain (Robert Whitehead) and Outstanding Couple (Tema Sebopedi and Motlatsi Mafatshe as Lerato Tsotetsi and Sechaba Moloi) awards.

The on screen couple brought charm and rapport to the stage by slipping into their characters while accepting the award.

Shaleen Surtie-Richards received the Lifetime Achievement for her three decades in the industry with memorable roles on soapies such as Egoli, Generations and 7de Laan.

At 58, this was the former kindergarten teacher’s 48th award to date.

Top Billing’s Michael Mol shared hosting duties with Hlomla Dandala, who was recently seen on SABC 1’s political thriller End Game.

Mafikizolo, The Somizi Mhlongo Dance Group and SA’s Got Talent judge, Ian von Memerty kept the crowd entertained with their energetic performances.  

The awards were founded by Generations actress Winnie Modise and sponsored by the KZN departments of Sport and Culture, Economic Development and Tourism, the National Department of Arts and Culture and eThekwini Municipality.’s Scandal and Rhythm City pulled out of the awards.


The full list of winners for the night:

Outstanding Lead Actor: Siyabonga Twala as Mpiyakhe Zungu for Isibaya

Outstanding Lead Actress: Thembi Nyandeni as Mkabayi Zungu for Isibaya

Outstanding Male Villain: Robert Whitehead as Barker Heins for Isidingo

Outstanding Female Villain: Marisa Drummond as Alexa for Binneland

Outstanding Soapie: Isibaya

Outstanding Supporting Actor: Hennie Jacobs as Diederik for 7de Laan

Outstanding Supporting Actress: Annelize van der Ryst as Matrone Netta Nortje for 7de Laan

Outstanding Couple: Tema Sebopedi  and Motlatsi Mafatshe as Sechaba and Lerato for Isidingo

Outstanding Newcomer: Simoné Nortmann as Nadia for 7de Laan

Outstanding Make-up & Hair: Isibaya

Outstanding Set Design: The Wild

Outstanding Writing Team: Isibaya

Outstanding Wardrobe: The Wild

Outstanding Art Direction: Isibaya

Outstanding Directing Team: Isibaya

Outstanding Editing Team: Isibaya

Outstanding Casting Director: Kutlwano Ditsele & Angus Gibson for Isibaya

Outstanding Lighting: Isibaya

Shaleen Surtie-Richards was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award