Tue Oct 24 09:21:56 CAT 2017
Get a loaf of bread when you buy the Sowetan using SnapnSave

Here's the good news: buy your print copy of the Sowetan, then use the SnapnSave app to get a free l.

At the 13th Metro FM Awards - PHOTOS

By Sowetan LIVE, Photos: Philani Dlamini | 2014-03-03 09:38:42.0

Mafikizolo dominated the Metro FM Awards on Saturday taking home 'Best African Pop Album' 'Best Produced Album' and 'Best Duo Group' with Uhuru's 'Y-Tjukuja' taking home the most prestigious award, Song of the Year.

The 13th Metro FM Music Awards event was held this past Saturday at the Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre with thousands of people at the venue.

The event hosted by Metro FM DJ Phat Joe and television host Pearl Thusi started with guests showing off their different outfits for the black carpet.

Afro pop group, Mafikizolo emerged as one of the biggest winners of the Metro FM Music Awards. The duo walked away with three categories, The Best Afro-pop album, Best produced Album and Best Duo / Group.

Old school kwaito acts gave such super-sterling performances when they dedicated twenty years of music together with Magesh, Mandoza, Thebe and Zola.

Durban Artist Naima K was expected to walk away with a number of awards with her album Imisebenzi, as she was nominated four times.– but she ended up going home empty handed


Best African pop album

  • Mafikizolo – Reunited

Best produced album

  • Mafikizolo – Reunited

Best duo/group

  • Mafikizolo – Reunited

Best compilation album

  • Euphonik – For the Love of House Vol. 5

Best dance album

  • Heavy K – Respect the Drumboss 2013

Best hit single

  • Khuli Chana – Mnatebawen

Best styled artist

  • Vusi Nova

Best urban jazz album

  • Nomfundo – Kusile

Best kwaito album

  • Character – Self Control

Best male artist

  • Culoe De Song – Exodus

Best female artist

  • DJ Cndo – Finest Lady of House Vol. 5

Best newcomer

  • Happy – Ahead of Time

Best RnB album

  • Danny K – Good Look

Best urban gospel album

  • Takie Ndou – Palmist

Best collaboration

  • Uhuru ft Oskido, Professor, DJ Bucks – Y-Tjukuja

Song of the year

  • Uhuru – Y-Tjukuja

Lifetime achievement awards

  • Robbie Malinga
  • Oskido Mdlongwa